Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Williams County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Williston is the Seat for Williams County.

Williams County was founded in 1890.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Williams had a population of 20,451 people. This is an increase of 3.49% since the last Census (which gave a population of 19,761 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Williams represented 3.08% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 8th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201022,398+13.34%+9.52% since 2009
200920,451+3.49%+3.3% since 2008
200819,797+0.18%+1.18% since 2007
200019,761The Last Census

More information can be found on the Williams County Census Page for Williams County.


Below are some of the communities located in Williams County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Williams County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Williston   13,01412,5124.01% increase  
Tioga   1,1271,1250.18% increase  
Ray   5525343.37% increase  
Grenora   1982021.98% decrease  
Wildrose   1281290.78% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation