Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Walsh County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Grafton is the Seat for Walsh County.

Walsh County was founded in 1881.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Walsh had a population of 10,798 people. This is a decrease of 12.84% since the last Census (which gave a population of 12,389 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Walsh represented 1.93% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 11th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201011,119-10.25%+2.97% since 2009
200910,798-12.84%-0.93% since 2008
200810,899-12.03%-0.98% since 2007
200012,389The Last Census

More information can be found on the Walsh County Census Page for Walsh County.


Below are some of the communities located in Walsh County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Walsh County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Grafton   3,9544,51612.44% decrease  
Park River   1,3451,53512.38% decrease  
Minto   59065710.2% decrease  
Hoople   25029214.38% decrease  
Fordville   22926613.91% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Visit our Community Index for North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation