Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Stark County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Dickinson is the Seat for Stark County.

Stark County was founded in 1879.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Stark had a population of 22,847 people. This is an increase of 0.93% since the last Census (which gave a population of 22,636 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Stark represented 3.52% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 6th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201024,199+6.9%+5.92% since 2009
200922,847+0.93%+1.47% since 2008
200822,517-0.53%+0.5% since 2007
200022,636The Last Census

More information can be found on the Stark County Census Page for Stark County.


Below are some of the communities located in Stark County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Stark County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Dickinson   16,26516,0101.59% increase  
Belfield   8178665.66% decrease  
Richardton   5776196.79% decrease  
South Heart   3023071.63% decrease  
Gladstone   2372484.44% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Cities, Towns and Villages of North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation