Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: The communities of Sioux County are split between two time zones. Some communities are located in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and they observe daylight saving time. The other communities are located in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and they observe daylight saving time.

The community of Fort Yates is the Seat for Sioux County.

Sioux County was founded in 1915.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Sioux had a population of 4,203 people. This is an increase of 3.93% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,044 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Sioux represented 0.63% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 31st most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20104,153+2.7%-1.19% since 2009
20094,203+3.93%+1.67% since 2008
20084,134+2.23%-0.14% since 2007
20004,044The Last Census

More information can be found on the Sioux County Census Page for Sioux County.


Below are some of the communities located in Sioux County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Sioux County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Fort Yates   2,1372,0733.09% increase  
North Sioux   1,1491,1143.14% increase  
Southwest Sioux   2982912.41% increase  
Fort Yates   28322824.12% increase  
Selfridge   2182232.24% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Find a Community located in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation