Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Sheridan County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of McClusky is the Seat for Sheridan County.

Sheridan County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Sheridan had a population of 1,228 people. This is a decrease of 28.19% since the last Census (which gave a population of 1,710 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Sheridan represented 0.27% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 51st most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20101,321-22.75%+7.57% since 2009
20091,228-28.19%-1.52% since 2008
20081,247-27.08%-4.81% since 2007
20001,710The Last Census

More information can be found on the Sheridan County Census Page for Sheridan County.


Below are some of the communities located in Sheridan County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Sheridan County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
McClusky   29341529.4% decrease  
Central Sheridan   22826413.64% decrease  
Goodrich   11216331.29% decrease  
South Sheridan   729826.53% decrease  
Martin   699628.13% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Find a Community within North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation