Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Sargent County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Forman is the Seat for Sargent County.

Sargent County was founded in 1883.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Sargent had a population of 3,951 people. This is a decrease of 9.51% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,366 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Sargent represented 0.68% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 29th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,829-12.3%-3.09% since 2009
20093,951-9.51%-1.45% since 2008
20084,009-8.18%-1.72% since 2007
20004,366The Last Census

More information can be found on the Sargent County Census Page for Sargent County.


Below are some of the communities located in Sargent County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Sargent County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Gwinner   6947173.21% decrease  
Milnor   6627116.89% decrease  
Forman   4565069.88% decrease  
Rutland   18922014.09% decrease  
Cogswell   14316513.33% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Search for a Community located in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation