Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Richland County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Wahpeton is the Seat for Richland County.

Richland County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Richland had a population of 16,067 people. This is a decrease of 10.73% since the last Census (which gave a population of 17,998 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Richland represented 2.8% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 9th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201016,321-9.32%+1.58% since 2009
200916,067-10.73%-1.77% since 2008
200816,356-9.12%-0.88% since 2007
200017,998The Last Census

More information can be found on the Richland County Census Page for Richland County.


Below are some of the communities located in Richland County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Richland County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Wahpeton   7,4188,58613.6% decrease  
Hankinson   9661,0588.7% decrease  
Lidgerwood   6957385.83% decrease  
Wyndmere   46453312.95% decrease  
Fairmount   35740612.07% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Search for a Community located in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation