Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Ransom County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Lisbon is the Seat for Ransom County.

Ransom County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Ransom had a population of 5,500 people. This is a decrease of 6.62% since the last Census (which gave a population of 5,890 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Ransom represented 0.92% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 22nd most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20105,457-7.35%-0.78% since 2009
20095,500-6.62%-2.81% since 2008
20085,659-3.92%-1.5% since 2007
20005,890The Last Census

More information can be found on the Ransom County Census Page for Ransom County.


Below are some of the communities located in Ransom County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Ransom County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Lisbon   2,1212,2927.46% decrease  
Enderlin   9979475.28% increase  
Sheldon   11813512.59% decrease  
Fort Ransom   947034.29% increase  
Elliott   40449.09% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Search for a Community in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation