Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Pembina County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Cavalier is the Seat for Pembina County.

Pembina County was founded in 1867.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Pembina had a population of 7,392 people. This is a decrease of 13.9% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,585 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Pembina represented 1.34% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 16th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,413-13.65%+0.28% since 2009
20097,392-13.9%-0.85% since 2008
20087,455-13.16%-1.65% since 2007
20008,585The Last Census

More information can be found on the Pembina County Census Page for Pembina County.


Below are some of the communities located in Pembina County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Pembina County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Cavalier   1,3201,53714.12% decrease  
Walhalla   8851,05716.27% decrease  
Drayton   77891314.79% decrease  
Pembina   54764214.8% decrease  
Neche   39343710.07% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Find a Community within North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation