Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Nelson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Lakota is the Seat for Nelson County.

Nelson County was founded in 1883.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Nelson had a population of 3,129 people. This is a decrease of 15.77% since the last Census (which gave a population of 3,715 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Nelson represented 0.58% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 33rd most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,126-15.85%-0.1% since 2009
20093,129-15.77%-1.32% since 2008
20083,171-14.64%-1.64% since 2007
20003,715The Last Census

More information can be found on the Nelson County Census Page for Nelson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Nelson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Nelson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Lakota   68978111.78% decrease  
McVille   40147014.68% decrease  
Michigan City   28234518.26% decrease  
Aneta   24728413.03% decrease  
Tolna   17320214.36% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Search for a Community in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation