Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Mountrail County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Stanley is the Seat for Mountrail County.

Mountrail County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Mountrail had a population of 6,791 people. This is an increase of 2.41% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,631 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Mountrail represented 1.03% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 20th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,673+15.71%+12.99% since 2009
20096,791+2.41%+3.38% since 2008
20086,569-0.94%+1.34% since 2007
20006,631The Last Census

More information can be found on the Mountrail County Census Page for Mountrail County.


Below are some of the communities located in Mountrail County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Mountrail County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
New Town   1,8381,36734.46% increase  
Stanley   --1,279 
Parshall   1,0739819.38% increase  
Plaza   1591674.79% decrease  
West Mountrail   1111142.63% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Search for a Community located in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation