Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Griggs County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Cooperstown is the Seat for Griggs County.

Griggs County was founded in 1881.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Griggs had a population of 2,346 people. This is a decrease of 14.81% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,754 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Griggs represented 0.43% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 40th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,420-12.13%+3.15% since 2009
20092,346-14.81%+0.26% since 2008
20082,340-15.03%-1.39% since 2007
20002,754The Last Census

More information can be found on the Griggs County Census Page for Griggs County.


Below are some of the communities located in Griggs County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Griggs County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Cooperstown   8851,05315.95% decrease  
Binford   16820116.42% decrease  
Hannaford   15018117.13% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Search for a North Dakota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation