Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Emmons County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Linton is the Seat for Emmons County.

Emmons County was founded in 1879.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Emmons had a population of 3,398 people. This is a decrease of 21.54% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,331 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Emmons represented 0.67% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 30th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,550-18.03%+4.47% since 2009
20093,398-21.54%-1.36% since 2008
20083,445-20.46%-1.82% since 2007
20004,331The Last Census

More information can be found on the Emmons County Census Page for Emmons County.


Below are some of the communities located in Emmons County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Emmons County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Linton   1,0181,32122.94% decrease  
South Emmons   86768526.57% increase  
North Emmons   728591,133% increase  
Strasburg   43954920.04% decrease  
Hazelton   18823720.68% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation