Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Cavalier County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Langdon is the Seat for Cavalier County.

Cavalier County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Cavalier had a population of 3,699 people. This is a decrease of 23.43% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,831 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Cavalier represented 0.75% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 26th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,993-17.35%+7.95% since 2009
20093,699-23.43%-1.81% since 2008
20083,767-22.02%-1.85% since 2007
20004,831The Last Census

More information can be found on the Cavalier County Census Page for Cavalier County.


Below are some of the communities located in Cavalier County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Cavalier County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Langdon   1,5972,10123.99% decrease  
Munich   20226824.63% decrease  
Osnabrock   14317417.82% decrease  
Milton   658523.53% decrease  
Alsen   526823.53% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation