Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Bowman County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Bowman is the Seat for Bowman County.

Bowman County was founded in 1883.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Bowman had a population of 3,028 people. This is a decrease of 6.6% since the last Census (which gave a population of 3,242 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Bowman represented 0.5% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 36th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,151-2.81%+4.06% since 2009
20093,028-6.6%-0.33% since 2008
20083,038-6.29%+3.4% since 2007
20003,242The Last Census

More information can be found on the Bowman County Census Page for Bowman County.


Below are some of the communities located in Bowman County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Bowman County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Bowman   1,5151,6005.31% decrease  
Scranton   2823047.24% decrease  
Rhame   1741897.94% decrease  
West Bowman   1001065.66% decrease  
Hart   26273.7% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Cities, Towns and Villages of North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation