Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Benson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Minnewaukan is the Seat for Benson County.

Benson County was founded in 1883.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Benson had a population of 6,910 people. This is a decrease of 0.78% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,964 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Benson represented 1.08% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 19th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20106,660-4.37%-3.62% since 2009
20096,910-0.78%+0.67% since 2008
20086,864-1.44%-0.2% since 2007
20006,964The Last Census

More information can be found on the Benson County Census Page for Benson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Benson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Benson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Fort Totten   1,6261,6140.74% increase  
Maddock   4744984.82% decrease  
Leeds   4454644.09% decrease  
Minnewaukan   2923188.18% decrease  
Esmond   1501595.66% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Find a Community located in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation