Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Carolina
The Commemorative Quarter for North Carolina

Time Zone: Swain County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Bryson City is the Seat for Swain County.

Swain County was founded in 1871. Swain was created by taking area from Jackson and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Swain had a population of 13,404 people. This is an increase of 3.36% since the last Census (which gave a population of 12,968 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Swain represented 0.16% of the total population of North Carolina, making it the state's 90th most populous county (out of 100 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201013,981+7.81%+4.3% since 2009
200913,404+3.36%+0.2% since 2008
200813,377+3.15%+0.24% since 2007
200012,968The Last Census

More information can be found on the Swain County Census Page for Swain County.


Websites for Swain County

Official Website:   www.swaincounty.org/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Swain County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Carolina

Search for a Community in North Carolina

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation