Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Roosevelt County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Wolf Point is the Seat for Roosevelt County.

Roosevelt County was founded in 1919 and was created by taking area from SheridanCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Roosevelt had a population of 10,303 people. This is a decrease of 2.98% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,620 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Roosevelt represented 1.18% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 17th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201010,425-1.84%+1.18% since 2009
200910,303-2.98%+1.98% since 2008
200810,103-4.87%-0.16% since 2007
200010,620The Last Census

More information can be found on the Roosevelt County Census Page for Roosevelt County.


Below are some of the communities located in Roosevelt County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Roosevelt County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Wolf Point   2,5572,6633.98% decrease  
Poplar   8839113.07% decrease  
Culbertson   7117160.7% decrease  
Brockton   2432450.82% decrease  
Froid   1971951.03% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Cities, Towns and Villages of Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation