Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Missoula County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Missoula is the Seat for Missoula County.

Missoula County is one of the original counties of Montana and was founded in 1864.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Missoula had a population of 108,623 people. This is an increase of 13.38% since the last Census (which gave a population of 95,802 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Missoula represented 10.62% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 2nd most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010109,299+14.09%+0.62% since 2009
2009108,623+13.38%+1% since 2008
2008107,552+12.26%+1.61% since 2007
200095,802The Last Census

More information can be found on the Missoula County Census Page for Missoula County.


Websites for Missoula County

Official Website:   www.co.missoula.mt.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Missoula County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Find a Community in Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation