Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Lincoln County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Libby is the Seat for Lincoln County.

Lincoln County was founded in 1909 and was created by taking area from FlatheadCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lincoln had a population of 18,717 people. This is a decrease of 0.64% since the last Census (which gave a population of 18,837 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lincoln represented 2.09% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 10th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201019,687+4.51%+5.18% since 2009
200918,717-0.64%-0.18% since 2008
200018,837The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lincoln County Census Page for Lincoln County.


Below are some of the communities located in Lincoln County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Lincoln County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Libby   2,8802,6269.67% increase  
Eureka   9981,0171.87% decrease  
Troy   9639570.63% increase  
Rexford   1481511.99% decrease  

Websites for Lincoln County

Official Website:   www.lincolncountymt.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Lincoln County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Search for a Community in Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation