Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Liberty County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Chester is the Seat for Liberty County.

Liberty County was founded in 1920. Liberty was created by taking area from Chouteau and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Liberty had a population of 1,748 people. This is a decrease of 19% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,158 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Liberty represented 0.24% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 45th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,339+8.39%+33.81% since 2009
20091,748-19%+0.29% since 2008
20081,743-19.23%-3.11% since 2007
20002,158The Last Census

More information can be found on the Liberty County Census Page for Liberty County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Visit our Community Index for Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation