Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Golden Valley County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Ryegate is the Seat for Golden Valley County.

Golden Valley County was founded in 1920. Golden Valley was created by taking area from Musselshell and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Golden Valley had a population of 1,057 people. This is an increase of 1.44% since the last Census (which gave a population of 1,042 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Golden Valley represented 0.12% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 54th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010884-15.16%-16.37% since 2009
20091,057+1.44%+1.54% since 2008
20081,041-0.1%-5.45% since 2007
20001,042The Last Census

More information can be found on the Golden Valley County Census Page for Golden Valley County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

The Communities of Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation