Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

The 2000 Census showed that Gallatin County had a population of 67,831 people. This represented 7.52% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 5th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

From the Census Estimates for 2009<1>, Gallatin had a population of 90,343 people. This is an increase of 33.19% since the 2000 Census.

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201089,513+31.96%-0.92% since 2009
200990,343+33.19%+0.59% since 2008
200889,812+32.41%+2.88% since 2007
200787,300+28.7%+3.32% since 2006
200684,498+24.57%+4.7% since 2005
200580,708+18.98%+4.22% since 2004
200477,439+14.16%+3.63% since 2003
200374,723+10.16%+3.78% since 2002
200272,000+6.15%+2.57% since 2001
200170,196+3.49%+3.49% since 2000
200067,831The Last Census

Gallatin County had 29,489 Housing Units<2> at the time of the 2000 Census.

The 2000 Census shows that Gallatin County has a total area<3> of 2,631 square miles [6,816 km²]. Of this total, 2,605 square miles [6,749 km²] of the area is land, with the balance (0.99%) being water (26 square miles [67.3 km²]).

Using the above population and land area values, Gallatin County had a population density of 26.03 people per square mile [10.05 people/km²], making it the state's 5th most densely populated county (out of 56 counties).

US Census QuickFacts

The Census Bureau has created documents containing demographic information that are called QuickFacts. A QuickFact that is specific to Gallatin County is available. The QuickFact also contains a comparison between Gallatin and the state of Montana.

Click here for the Gallatin County QuickFact (QF-30031).

Below are some of the communities that are located in Gallatin County:

(2009 Est)
(2000 Census)
Change in

Below are the counties that adjoin and form the boundaries of Gallatin County. A link to their specific Census QuickFact has been provided.

(2009 Est.)
(2000 Census)
Change in
Fremont (ID)QF-16043   S12,69111,8197.38%
BroadwaterQF-30007   N4,7934,3859.3%
JeffersonQF-30043   NW11,47010,04914.14%
MadisonQF-30057   SW7,4576,8518.85%
MeagherQF-30059   N1,9081,932-1.24%
ParkQF-30067   E15,94115,6941.57%
Park (WY)QF-56029   SE27,97625,7868.49%
Teton (WY)QF-56039   S20,71018,25113.47%

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Find a Community in Montana

Off-the-Road Links ...

U.S. Census Bureau
Census QuickFact for Gallatin County

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>A Housing Unit is a broad term for those places where people live (whether occupied or temporarily vacant), such as a house, an apartment, a mobile home, or an area that is considered as a separate living quarter. Separate living quarters (consisting of one or more rooms) are considered to be those places where people live, sleep and eat separately from others and that have access to the outside (either directly or by a shared hallway).

- Return to Citation

<3>The area value has been supplied by the US Census Bureau and it can be different than the geographic boundaries of Gallatin. The value given by the Census Bureau reflects their statistical (or sampling) requirements.

- Return to Citation

<4>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation