Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Winston County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Louisville is the Seat for Winston County.

Winston County was founded in 1833. Winston was created by taking area from Lowndes, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Winston had a population of 19,309 people. This is a decrease of 4.22% since the last Census (which gave a population of 20,160 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Winston represented 0.71% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 48th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201019,198-4.77%-0.57% since 2009
200919,309-4.22%-0.71% since 2008
200819,447-3.54%-1.29% since 2007
200020,160The Last Census

More information can be found on the Winston County Census Page for Winston County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Search for a Community in Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation