Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Webster County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Walthall is the Seat for Webster County.

Webster County was founded in 1874.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Webster had a population of 9,852 people. This is a decrease of 4.29% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,294 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Webster represented 0.36% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 74th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201010,253-0.4%+4.07% since 2009
20099,852-4.29%-0.63% since 2008
20089,914-3.69%+1.34% since 2007
200010,294The Last Census

More information can be found on the Webster County Census Page for Webster County.


Below are some of the communities located in Webster County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Webster County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Eupora   2,1862,3266.02% decrease  
Walthall   1611705.29% decrease  
Mantee   1611694.73% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Communities in Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation