Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Walthall County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Tylertown is the Seat for Walthall County.

Walthall County was founded in 1912. Walthall was created by taking area from Marion and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Walthall had a population of 15,291 people. This is an increase of 0.89% since the last Census (which gave a population of 15,156 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Walthall represented 0.53% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 57th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201015,443+1.89%+0.99% since 2009
200915,291+0.89%-0.91% since 2008
200815,432+1.82%+0.42% since 2007
200015,156The Last Census

More information can be found on the Walthall County Census Page for Walthall County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

The Communities of Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation