Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Leflore County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Greenwood is the Seat for Leflore County.

Leflore County was founded in 1871. Leflore was created by taking area from Carroll and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Leflore had a population of 34,563 people. This is a decrease of 8.92% since the last Census (which gave a population of 37,947 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Leflore represented 1.33% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 22nd most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201032,317-14.84%-6.5% since 2009
200934,563-8.92%-1.5% since 2008
200037,947The Last Census

More information can be found on the Leflore County Census Page for Leflore County.


Below are some of the communities located in Leflore County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Leflore County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Greenwood   15,80818,42514.2% decrease  
Itta Bena   1,8372,20816.8% decrease  
Sidon   55467217.56% decrease  
Schlater   3503889.79% decrease  
Morgan City   2793058.52% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Search for a Mississippi Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation