Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Issaquena County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Mayersville is the Seat for Issaquena County.

Issaquena County was founded in 1844 and was created by taking area from WashingtonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Issaquena had a population of 1,612 people. This is a decrease of 29.11% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,274 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Issaquena represented 0.08% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 82nd most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20101,406-38.17%-12.78% since 2009
20091,612-29.11%-2.6% since 2008
20081,655-27.22%-0.72% since 2007
20002,274The Last Census

More information can be found on the Issaquena County Census Page for Issaquena County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Communities in Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation