Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Hancock County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Bay Saint Louis is the Seat for Hancock County.

Hancock County was founded in 1812.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Hancock had a population of 40,962 people. This is a decrease of 4.67% since the last Census (which gave a population of 42,967 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Hancock represented 1.51% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 15th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201043,929+2.24%+7.24% since 2009
200940,962-4.67%+1.16% since 2008
200840,493-5.76%+1.89% since 2007
200042,967The Last Census

More information can be found on the Hancock County Census Page for Hancock County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Search for a Mississippi Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation