Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Coahoma County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Clarksdale is the Seat for Coahoma County.

Coahoma County was founded in 1836.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Coahoma had a population of 26,936 people. This is a decrease of 12.04% since the last Census (which gave a population of 30,622 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Coahoma represented 1.08% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 29th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201026,151-14.6%-2.91% since 2009
200926,936-12.04%-0.91% since 2008
200827,184-11.23%-1.34% since 2007
200030,622The Last Census

More information can be found on the Coahoma County Census Page for Coahoma County.


Below are some of the communities located in Coahoma County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Coahoma County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Clarksdale   17,73420,64514.1% decrease  
Jonestown   1,5451,7019.17% decrease  
Friars Point   1,3021,48012.03% decrease  
Lyon   36241813.4% decrease  
Coahoma   3393254.31% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Cities, Towns and Villages of Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation