Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Missouri

Time Zone: Saint Francois County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Farmington is the Seat for Saint Francois County.

Saint Francois County was founded in 1821. Saint Francois was created by taking area from Jefferson, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Saint Francois had a population of 63,884 people. This is an increase of 14.81% since the last Census (which gave a population of 55,641 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Saint Francois represented 0.99% of the total population of Missouri, making it the state's 15th most populous county (out of 115 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201065,359+17.47%+2.31% since 2009
200963,884+14.81%+0.9% since 2008
200863,314+13.79%+0.91% since 2007
200055,641The Last Census

More information can be found on the Saint Francois County Census Page for Saint Francois County.


Below are some of the communities located in Saint Francois County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Saint Francois County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Farmington   16,31813,92417.19% increase  
Park Hills   8,8787,86112.94% increase  
Bonne Terre   7,0654,03974.9% increase  
Desloge   5,2134,8028.56% increase  
Bismarck   1,5451,4705.1% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Missouri

Cities, Towns and Villages of Missouri

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation