Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Missouri

Time Zone: Howard County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Fayette is the Seat for Howard County.

Howard County was founded in 1816. Howard was created by taking area from Saint Charles and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Howard had a population of 9,857 people. This is a decrease of 3.48% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,212 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Howard represented 0.18% of the total population of Missouri, making it the state's 88th most populous county (out of 115 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201010,144-0.67%+2.91% since 2009
20089,851-3.54%+0.33% since 2007
200010,212The Last Census

More information can be found on the Howard County Census Page for Howard County.


Below are some of the communities located in Howard County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Howard County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Fayette   2,6762,7934.19% decrease  
New Franklin   1,1031,1453.67% decrease  
Armstrong   2792872.79% decrease  
Franklin   1111120.89% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Missouri

Communities in Missouri

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation