Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Minnesota

Time Zone: Watonwan County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Saint James is the Seat for Watonwan County.

Watonwan County was founded in 1860 and was created by taking area from BrownCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Watonwan had a population of 10,912 people. This is a decrease of 8.12% since the last Census (which gave a population of 11,876 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Watonwan represented 0.24% of the total population of Minnesota, making it the state's 65th most populous county (out of 87 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201011,211-5.6%+2.74% since 2009
200910,912-8.12%+0.4% since 2008
200810,868-8.49%-1.12% since 2007
200011,876The Last Census

More information can be found on the Watonwan County Census Page for Watonwan County.


Below are some of the communities located in Watonwan County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Watonwan County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Saint James   4,3054,6958.31% decrease  
Madelia   2,1512,3408.08% decrease  
Butterfield   50456410.64% decrease  
Lewisville   2542747.3% decrease  
Ormsby   13615411.69% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Minnesota

Find a Community within Minnesota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation