Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Minnesota

Time Zone: Traverse County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Wheaton is the Seat for Traverse County.

Traverse County was founded in 1862 and was created by taking area from County.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Traverse had a population of 3,573 people. This is a decrease of 13.57% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,134 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Traverse represented 0.08% of the total population of Minnesota, making it the state's 87th most populous county (out of 87 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,558-13.93%-0.42% since 2009
20093,573-13.57%-0.81% since 2008
20083,602-12.87%-1.96% since 2007
20004,134The Last Census

More information can be found on the Traverse County Census Page for Traverse County.


Below are some of the communities located in Traverse County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Traverse County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Wheaton   1,3831,61914.58% decrease  
Browns Valley   58869014.78% decrease  
Dumont   10212216.39% decrease  
Tintah   667916.46% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Minnesota

Search for a Minnesota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation