Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Minnesota

Time Zone: Cottonwood County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Windom is the Seat for Cottonwood County.

Cottonwood County was founded in 1857 and was created by taking area from BrownCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Cottonwood had a population of 11,116 people. This is a decrease of 8.64% since the last Census (which gave a population of 12,167 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Cottonwood represented 0.25% of the total population of Minnesota, making it the state's 63rd most populous county (out of 87 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201011,687-3.95%+5.14% since 2009
200911,116-8.64%-1.03% since 2008
200811,232-7.68%-0.69% since 2007
200012,167The Last Census

More information can be found on the Cottonwood County Census Page for Cottonwood County.


Below are some of the communities located in Cottonwood County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Cottonwood County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Windom   4,1364,4907.88% decrease  
Mountain Lake   1,8962,0828.93% decrease  
Westbrook   66675511.79% decrease  
Jeffers   3583969.6% decrease  
Storden   24327411.31% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Minnesota

Find a Community in Minnesota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation