Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Massachusetts

Time Zone: Essex County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Salem is the Seat for Essex County.

Essex County is one of the original counties of Massachusetts and was founded in 1643.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Essex had a population of 742,582 people. This is an increase of 2.65% since the last Census (which gave a population of 723,419 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Essex represented 11.39% of the total population of Massachusetts, making it the state's 3rd most populous county (out of 14 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2009742,582+2.65%+0.71% since 2008
2008737,365+1.93%+0.59% since 2007
2000723,419The Last Census

More information can be found on the Essex County Census Page for Essex County.


Below are some of the communities located in Essex County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Essex County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Lynn   87,51789,0501.72% decrease  
Lawrence   70,57972,0432.03% decrease  
Haverhill   61,57858,9694.42% increase  
Peabody   51,71848,1297.46% increase  
Methuen   44,36443,7891.31% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Massachusetts

Search for a Massachusetts Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation