Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kentucky

Time Zone: Union County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Morganfield is the Seat for Union County.

Union County was founded in 1811 and was created by taking area from HendersonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Union had a population of 14,990 people. This is a decrease of 4.14% since the last Census (which gave a population of 15,637 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Union represented 0.39% of the total population of Kentucky, making it the state's 70th most populous county (out of 120 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201015,007-4.03%+0.11% since 2009
200914,990-4.14%-0.38% since 2008
200015,637The Last Census

More information can be found on the Union County Census Page for Union County.


Below are some of the communities located in Union County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Union County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Morganfield   3,2643,4946.58% decrease  
Sturgis   1,9052,0306.16% decrease  
Uniontown   1,0221,0643.95% decrease  
Waverly   2772976.73% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kentucky

Find a Community in Kentucky

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation