Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kentucky

Time Zone: Powell County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Stanton is the Seat for Powell County.

Powell County was founded in 1852. Powell was created by taking area from Clark, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Powell had a population of 13,566 people. This is an increase of 2.49% since the last Census (which gave a population of 13,237 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Powell represented 0.33% of the total population of Kentucky, making it the state's 84th most populous county (out of 120 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201012,613-4.71%-7.02% since 2009
200913,566+2.49%-0.15% since 2008
200813,587+2.64%-0.34% since 2007
200013,237The Last Census

More information can be found on the Powell County Census Page for Powell County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kentucky

Find a Community in Kentucky

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation