Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kentucky

Time Zone: Logan County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Russellville is the Seat for Logan County.

Logan County was founded in 1792 and was created by taking area from LincolnCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Logan had a population of 27,174 people. This is an increase of 2.26% since the last Census (which gave a population of 26,573 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Logan represented 0.66% of the total population of Kentucky, making it the state's 40th most populous county (out of 120 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201026,835+0.99%-1.25% since 2009
200927,174+2.26%+0.36% since 2008
200827,077+1.9%-0.23% since 2007
200026,573The Last Census

More information can be found on the Logan County Census Page for Logan County.


Below are some of the communities located in Logan County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Logan County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Russellville   7,2507,1491.41% increase  
Auburn   1,5031,4444.09% increase  
Adairville   9199200.11% decrease  
Lewisburg   9129031% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kentucky

Search for a Kentucky Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation