Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Wabaunsee County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Alma is the Seat for Wabaunsee County.

Wabaunsee County was founded in 1859.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Wabaunsee had a population of 6,846 people. This is a decrease of 0.57% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,885 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Wabaunsee represented 0.26% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 57th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,053+2.44%+3.02% since 2009
20096,846-0.57%-0.48% since 2008
20006,885The Last Census

More information can be found on the Wabaunsee County Census Page for Wabaunsee County.


Below are some of the communities located in Wabaunsee County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Wabaunsee County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Alma   7457976.52% decrease  
Eskridge   5625894.58% decrease  
Maple Hill   5014696.82% increase  
Alta Vista   4164425.88% decrease  
McFarland   2722710.37% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Cities, Towns and Villages of Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation