Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Rawlins County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Atwood is the Seat for Rawlins County.

Rawlins County was founded March 20, 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Rawlins had a population of 2,425 people. This is a decrease of 18.24% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,966 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Rawlins represented 0.11% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 94th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,519-15.07%+3.88% since 2009
20092,425-18.24%-1.66% since 2008
20082,466-16.86%-2.76% since 2007
20002,966The Last Census

More information can be found on the Rawlins County Census Page for Rawlins County.


Below are some of the communities located in Rawlins County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Rawlins County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Atwood   1,0361,27919% decrease  
McDonald   12515921.38% decrease  
Herndon   12414916.78% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Find a Community in Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation