Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Osage County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Lyndon is the Seat for Osage County.

Osage County was founded in 1859.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Osage had a population of 16,104 people. This is a decrease of 3.64% since the last Census (which gave a population of 16,712 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Osage represented 0.62% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 33rd most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201016,295-2.5%+1.19% since 2009
200916,104-3.64%-1% since 2008
200816,266-2.67%-0.3% since 2007
200016,712The Last Census

More information can be found on the Osage County Census Page for Osage County.


Below are some of the communities located in Osage County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Osage County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Osage City   2,7703,0348.7% decrease  
Carbondale   1,3531,4788.46% decrease  
Lyndon   9981,0383.85% decrease  
Burlingame   9421,0177.37% decrease  
Overbrook   9169473.27% decrease  

Websites for Osage County

Official Website:   www.osageco.org/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Osage County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Search for a Community in Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation