Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Montgomery County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Independence is the Seat for Montgomery County.

Montgomery County was founded February 26, 1867 and was created by taking area from WilsonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Montgomery had a population of 34,254 people. This is a decrease of 5.51% since the last Census (which gave a population of 36,252 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Montgomery represented 1.35% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 14th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201035,471-2.15%+3.55% since 2009
200834,277-5.45%-0.36% since 2007
200036,252The Last Census

More information can be found on the Montgomery County Census Page for Montgomery County.


Below are some of the communities located in Montgomery County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Montgomery County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Coffeyville   10,24411,0217.05% decrease  
Independence   9,1989,8466.58% decrease  
Cherryvale   2,2442,3865.95% decrease  
Caney   1,9662,0926.02% decrease  
Dearing   4504158.43% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

The Communities of Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation