Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Marshall County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Marysville is the Seat for Marshall County.

Marshall County is one of the original counties of Kansas and was founded August 25, 1855.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Marshall had a population of 10,123 people. This is a decrease of 7.68% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,965 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Marshall represented 0.41% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 38th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
200910,123-7.68%-0.56% since 2008
200810,180-7.16%+0.22% since 2007
200010,965The Last Census

More information can be found on the Marshall County Census Page for Marshall County.


Below are some of the communities located in Marshall County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Marshall County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Marysville   3,1053,2715.07% decrease  
Blue Rapids   1,0131,0886.89% decrease  
Frankfort   7718559.82% decrease  
Waterville   61268110.13% decrease  
Axtell   4154456.74% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Search for a Kansas Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation