Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Jewell County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Mankato is the Seat for Jewell County.

Jewell County was founded February 26, 1867.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Jewell had a population of 3,059 people. This is a decrease of 19.31% since the last Census (which gave a population of 3,791 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Jewell represented 0.14% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 79th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,077-18.83%+0.59% since 2009
20093,059-19.31%-2.05% since 2008
20083,123-17.62%-2.01% since 2007
20003,791The Last Census

More information can be found on the Jewell County Census Page for Jewell County.


Below are some of the communities located in Jewell County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Jewell County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Mankato   77397620.8% decrease  
Jewell   39648318.01% decrease  
Burr Oak   20626522.26% decrease  
Esbon   12114818.24% decrease  
Formoso   10512918.6% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Find a Community located in Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation