Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Jackson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Holton is the Seat for Jackson County.

Jackson County was founded February 11, 1859.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Jackson had a population of 13,412 people. This is an increase of 5.97% since the last Census (which gave a population of 12,657 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Jackson represented 0.47% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 37th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201013,462+6.36%+0.37% since 2009
200913,412+5.97%+1.26% since 2008
200813,245+4.65%-0.83% since 2007
200012,657The Last Census

More information can be found on the Jackson County Census Page for Jackson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Jackson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Jackson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Holton   3,2893,3531.91% decrease  
Hoyt   5755710.7% increase  
Mayetta   35531213.78% increase  
Denison   2242313.03% decrease  
Whiting   2082060.97% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Search for a Community located in Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation