Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Franklin County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Ottawa is the Seat for Franklin County.

Franklin County is one of the original counties of Kansas and was founded August 25, 1855.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Franklin had a population of 26,441 people. This is an increase of 6.69% since the last Census (which gave a population of 24,784 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Franklin represented 0.92% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 24th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201025,992+4.87%-1.7% since 2009
200926,441+6.69%+0.17% since 2008
200826,397+6.51%+0.51% since 2007
200024,784The Last Census

More information can be found on the Franklin County Census Page for Franklin County.


Below are some of the communities located in Franklin County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Franklin County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Ottawa   12,88711,9218.1% increase  
Wellsville   1,7071,6066.29% increase  
Pomona   9429232.06% increase  
Richmond   4975102.55% decrease  
Williamsburg   3543510.85% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Search for a Community located in Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation