Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Decatur County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Oberlin is the Seat for Decatur County.

Decatur County was founded March 20, 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Decatur had a population of 2,855 people. This is a decrease of 17.77% since the last Census (which gave a population of 3,472 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Decatur represented 0.13% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 84th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,961-14.72%+3.71% since 2009
20092,855-17.77%-1.96% since 2008
20082,912-16.13%-1.75% since 2007
20003,472The Last Census

More information can be found on the Decatur County Census Page for Decatur County.


Below are some of the communities located in Decatur County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Decatur County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Oberlin   1,6211,99418.71% decrease  
Norcatur   14116916.57% decrease  
Jennings   11614620.55% decrease  
Clayton   60669.09% decrease  
Dresden   435115.69% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Cities, Towns and Villages of Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation