Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Cherokee County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Columbus is the Seat for Cherokee County.

Cherokee County was founded February 18, 1860.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Cherokee had a population of 21,064 people. This is a decrease of 6.82% since the last Census (which gave a population of 22,605 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Cherokee represented 0.84% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 26th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201021,603-4.43%+2.56% since 2009
200921,064-6.82%-0.54% since 2008
200821,178-6.31%-1.08% since 2007
200022,605The Last Census

More information can be found on the Cherokee County Census Page for Cherokee County.


Below are some of the communities located in Cherokee County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Cherokee County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Baxter Springs   4,1444,6029.95% decrease  
Columbus   3,1773,3966.45% decrease  
Galena   3,1193,2875.11% decrease  
Weir   7067809.49% decrease  
Scammon   4634966.65% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Find a Community within Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation