Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Chautauqua County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Sedan is the Seat for Chautauqua County.

Chautauqua County was founded March 25, 1875 and was created by taking area from County.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Chautauqua had a population of 3,745 people. This is a decrease of 14.09% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,359 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Chautauqua represented 0.16% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 77th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,669-15.83%-2.03% since 2009
20093,745-14.09%-0.29% since 2008
20083,756-13.83%-0.5% since 2007
20004,359The Last Census

More information can be found on the Chautauqua County Census Page for Chautauqua County.


Below are some of the communities located in Chautauqua County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Chautauqua County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Sedan   1,1551,34213.93% decrease  
Cedar Vale   61272315.35% decrease  
Peru   15818313.66% decrease  
Niotaze   10512213.93% decrease  
Chautauqua   9711314.16% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Find a Community in Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation